Hello,
It has come to our attention that a hack group has taken the job upon them to send out fake emails to get systems of members infected with malicious software, and they are using our vBFans web site to look more official. Of course, we're not sending these emails, nor will we contact our members requesting them to open attached email files. We never include attachments in mails.
Example:
Quote: ()
Dear (username), It has come to our attention that your Vbfans User Profile ( x ) records are out of date. For further details see the attached document. Thank you for using Vbfans!
Vbfans Support
http://www.vbfans.com/ |
It looks something like the above example, so .. don't open those attachments. A few users reported this, and I have also received a few of these fake emails.
If you, as a member of vBFans, think you might still be stupid enough to open attachments in email, and believe you received this one and opened the attachment, and are on Windows, then feel free to send me a Private Message.
Usually I couldn't care about these fake emails, but this was targetted and hurts our good name. Plus I found out the people who does this. I thought it was a nice idea to inform our community.
Floris & Staff